CULTURAL AND EDUCATIONAL TOURISM

Cultural and educational tourism is also called excursional tourism. The point of this type of travel is in familiarizing with the culture, history and artistic heritage of the place of visit, and in this regard, Sochi also has quite a lot to offer its guests.

The advantageous geographical position of the resort - between the sea and the mountains – has led to the emergence of many wonderful natural phenomena and monuments. The yew-boxwood grove, Akhshtyrskaya and Vorontsovskaya caves, the Еagle cliffs, Agursky waterfalls, and Akhun mountain are traditionally on the must visit list of attractions available in Sochi.

Furthermore, this list is growing: for example, as of 2017 the excursions to the waterfalls include a very interesting comfort route to the Mendelikha Park of waterfalls in Rosa Khutor area. Nature lovers are welcome to visit the Sochi national Park, the famous Arboretum and the Yuzhniye Kultury Park.

The great history of those places can be discovered drawing on the extant buildings and monuments. It will not take a long time and will leave unforgettable impressions to visit the Volkonsky dolmen, the Genoese fortification remains in Hosta, Godlik medieval fortress, the ancient towers and walls of Achipse near Krasnaya Polyana erected in the sixth-eighth century on one of the roads, which was a part of the Great Silk Way. Within the city itself, one can see the Vereshchagin viaduct and the remains of Navagin fortification wall. Fort Alexandria, the first Russian military-type settlement, which used to be in the area of modern Sochi city center, is at present under protection as a national military fortification monument.

The later period historical and architectural monuments including the Marine station, the Indo-European Telegraph, Voronov’s Dacha, the Sochi Lighthouse complex of buildings, the Treasury, Yusupov’s house are in excellent condition and continue to make a great impression on tourists. Experts account for at least 8 architectural styles, explicitly represented in the urban environment of Sochi. The beautiful examples of neo-romanticism include Villa Vera, Jacobson and Zinoviev’s Dacha, the Red Shturm Sanatorium building. The functioning Library named after Pushkin, Gordon's house, Ranovsky brothers’ Teremok are built in the Art Nouveau style. The building of the Sanatorium named after Voroshilov, the former sanatorium Mountain Air, and the building of the Institute of Balneology and Physiotherapy are the examples of constructivism. Primorskaya hotel building, which is the architectural landmark of the resort city, has been erected in the style of Soviet Art Deco, Matsesta Valley Sanatorium belongs to the modernized neo-classicism, Commercial Gallery in Navaginskaya to early modernism and minimalism, and Hotel Dagomys to late modernism and monumentalism. The special charisma of Sochi is even more enhanced by the luxurious buildings in the style of Stalin's Empire such as the Marine Station, the Railway Terminal, and the Sanatorium named after Ordzhonikidze. One of the most famous and frequently visited historical monuments in the resort city is Stalin's Dacha on the territory of the former Green Grove Sanatorium.

Impressive monuments of religious architecture in Sochi include the Cathedral of Michael the Archangel, erected in memory of the end of the hostilities of the Caucasian war (1864), and the new Temple of the Miraculous Image of Christ the Savior, built in the Olympic Park on the site where the ruins of a ninth century Byzantine Church were found.

The sculptures decorating Sochi are numerous and diverse: the classical monuments to Emperor Nicholas II, Alexander Pushkin, Maxim Gorky, Nikolai Ostrovsky within the space of the city quite naturally coexist with amusing figures of owls, dogs, street musicians. On the territory of the Seaport, where a few scenes of the famous comedy The Diamond Hand were filmed, there is now a sculptural group depicting the characters of that hit movie. Near the Pushkin library in 1913, they erected the monument representing the Gun and Anchor in honor of the victory in the Russian-Turkish war - the only memorial in the country dedicated to that historic event. In Ploschad Iskusstv near the Art Museum there is a symbolic composition called The Golden Fleece, and in the village of Lazarevskoye one can see the majestic monument known as The Good Angel of Peace, opposite Festivalniy Concert Hall there is a monument to Vladimir Vysotsky, and in the resort town of Adler there are mosaic sculptures The Coral and The Fish by Zurab Tsereteli.

More useful articles

Health and spa resort Matsesta

Matsesta resort is the largest health and spa resort complex in Russia, founded in 1902 on ...

EVENT TOURISM

In increasing frequency the reason for a trip to the resort comes to be the event, which is defi...

Закрыть

Культурно-познавательный туризм

Культурно-познавательный туризм иначе называют экскурсионным. Суть этого вида путешествий в приобщении к культуре, истории и художественному наследию места посещения, и в этом плане Сочи также есть что предложить гостям. 

Удивительное географическое положение курорта - между морем и горами – обусловило появление здесь множество замечательных природных памятников. Тисо-самшитовая роща, Воронцовская и Ахштырская пещеры,  орлиные скалы, Агурские водопады, гора Ахун традиционно входят в число обязательных для посещения достопримечательностей Сочи.  И этот список растет: к примеру, в 2017-м году экскурсии к водопадам пополнились чрезвычайно интересным   благоустроенным маршрутом в «Менделиху» - парк водопадов на Розе Хутор. Любители природы посещают Сочинский национальный парк, знаменитый Дендрарий и парк «Южные культуры». 

Богатую историю этих мест можно изучать по сохранившимся сооружениям и памятникам архитектуры. Не займут много времени и оставят незабываемые впечатления экскурсии к Волконскому дольмену, генуэзским руинам в Хосте, средневековой крепости Годлик, древним – шестого-восьмого века - башням и стенам Ачипсе близ Красной Поляны, на одной из дорог Великого шелкового пути. В самом городе можно осмотреть Верещагинский виадук и остатки крепостной стены Навагинского укрепления. Первое русское поселение военного типа на месте центра современного Сочи, форт Александрия ныне охраняется как памятник военной отечественной фортификации. 

В прекрасном состоянии находятся и радуют туристов архитектурно-исторические памятники более позднего времени: Морской вокзал, Индо-Европейский телеграф, дача Воронова, комплекс зданий Сочинского маяка, Казначейство, дом Юсупова. Знатоки насчитывают не менее 8 архитектурных стилей, ярко представленных в городской среде Сочи.  Прекрасные образчики неоромантизма – вилла «Вера», дачи Якобсона и Зиновьевой, санаторий «Красный штурм».  В стиле модерн построены действующая библиотека имени Пушкина, дом Гордона, «Теремок» братьев Рановских. Образцы конструктивизма - санаторий имени Ворошилова, бывший санаторий «Горный воздух» и здание института курортологии и физиотерапии.  Гостиница «Приморская», одна из визитных карточек курорта, построена в стиле советского арт-деко, санаторий «Мацестинская долина» - это модернизированная неоклассика, торговая галерея на Навагинской – ранний модернизм-минимализм, а гостиница «Дагомыс» - поздний модернизм-монументализм. Особый шарм Сочи придают роскошные здания в стиле сталинского ампира: железнодорожный и морской вокзалы, санаторий имени Орджоникидзе. Одним из наиболее известных и посещаемых исторических памятников в городе-курорте является Дача Сталина на территории бывшего санатория «Зеленая роща».

Интересные туристам памятники культовой архитектуры в Сочи -  собор Михаила Архангела, возведенный  в память окончания военных действий Кавказской войны (1864 г.),  и новый храм Нерукотворного образа Христа Спасителя, построенный в Олимпийском парке на месте, где были найдены руины Византийского храма девятого века. 

Многочислены и разнообразны украшающие Сочи скульптуры: классические памятники императору Николаю Второму, Александру Сергеевичу Пушкину, Максиму Горькому, Николаю Островскому в пространстве города оригинально соседствуют с забавными фигурами сов, собачек, уличных музыкантов. На территории Морского порта, где снимались отдельные сцены знаменитого фильма «Бриллиантовая рука», установлена скульптурная группа, изображающая персонажей кинохита. Возле библиотеки имени Пушкина находится возведенный в 1913 году в честь победы в русско-турецкой войне памятник «Пушка и якорь» - единственный в  стране мемориал, посвященный этому историческому событию. На площади Искусств у Художественного музея установлена символическая композиция «Золотое руно», в поселке Лазаревском можно увидеть величественный монумент «Добрый Ангел Мира», у концертного зала «Фестивальный» - памятник Владимиру Высоцкому, а в Курортном городке   Адлера –  мозаичные скульптуры Зураба  Церетели «Коралл» и «Рыбки».

еще интересные статьи

Памятник А.С. Пушкину

Расположен в Приморском парке, недалеко от библиотеки им. А.С. Пушкина
Памятник АС. Пушкину установлен в Сочи в 1937 году, к 100 - летию со дня смерти писателя, выполнен из мрамора. Первоначально находился на Пушкинском проспекте (в районе Сочинского цирка). В начале 1950-х годов перенесен на современное месторасположение —Приморский бульвар.

Круизный туризм

Морской круиз – настоящее путешествие мечты. Вы не испытываете никаких дорожных неудобств, безза...

ул. Воровского

Улица Воро́вского, расположенная в Центральном районе города Сочи, сформировалась в начале XX века и первоначально носила название Надеждинская. В этот период небольшой посад Сочи условно делился на нижнюю и верхнюю части.

Закрыть